About the First Run Film Festival

Members of the industry are encouraged to contact our filmmakers. For more information or to inquire about press and industry credentials to attend the festival, please contact our Special Events Office at

Tisch School of the Arts

  • Allyson Green, Dean

Maurice Kanbar Institute of Film & Television

  • Michael Burke, Associate Dean
  • Spike Lee, Graduate Film Artistic Director
  • Joe Pichirallo, Undergraduate Film & Television Chair
  • Barbara Schock, Graduate Film Chair

Web Development

What is the Audience Choice Award?

The 2017 Audience Choice Award will go to the film which receives the most votes during the 2017 Festival.*

The winner will receive:

FREE TRIP TO LA: Join the other First Run Winners on an all-expense paid trip to Los Angeles in June, for industry meetings, panels and alumni networking opportunities.

*Top 3 Prize winners in each department are not eligible for the Audience Choice Award.

Voting Guidelines:

1. Only one vote per person, per screening block.
There are 14 screening blocks. If you attend each one, you could vote up to 14 times.

2.You must vote for a film that was featured in the screening block which you attended.
Ballots are screening specific--each block will have its own ballot.

3. Ballots must be turned in at the end of each screening block.
First Run Crew will be on hand to collect your ballots at the end of each screening.

First Run on Facebook